Left Front announces candidates in 25 Bengal seats

  • Fri,15 Mar 2019 05:23:41 PM

Kolkata, March 15 (IANS): The Left Front on Friday announced its candidates for 25 of West Bengal's 42 Lok Sabha seats, including the two seats won by the CPI-M in 2014.

Seventeen seats have been left unannounced, which would be divided between the Left parties and the Congress, Left Front Chairman Biman Bose said in a release.

Among the 25 seats, Left Front major Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) will contest in 15 seats, while the partners - the All India Forward Bloc (AIFB), the Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) and the Communist Party of India (CPI) - will contest in the remaining 10 seats.

Stating that seat adjustment talks are on with the Congress so that the anti-Trinamool Congress, anti-BJP votes do not get divided in Bengal, Bose said the Left Front did not field any candidate in the four Lok Sabha seats won by Congress in 2014, as both parties had previously agreed on not having any "mutual contest".


Leave a Comment

Title : Left Front announces candidates in 25 Bengal seats

You have 2000 characters left.